Skip to content
You are not logged in |Login  
   
Limit search to available items
BOOK
Title The up side of down : why failing well is the key to success / Megan McArdle.
Author McArdle, Megan.
Summary "For readers of Drive, Outliers, and Daring Greatly, a counterintuitive, paradigm-shifting new take on what makes people and companies succeed Most new products fail. So do most small businesses. And most of us, if we are honest, have experienced a major setback in our personal or professional lives. So what determines who will bounce back and follow up with a home run? If you want to succeed in business and in life, Megan McArdle argues in this hugely thought-provoking book, you have to learn how to harness the power of failure. McArdle has been one of our most popular business bloggers for more than a decade, covering the rise and fall of some the world's top companies and challenging us to think differently about how we live, learn, and work. Drawing on cutting-edge research in science, psychology, economics, and business, and taking insights from turnaround experts, emergency room doctors, venture capitalists, child psychologists, bankruptcy judges, and mountaineers, McArdle argues that America is unique in its willingness to let people and companies fail, but also in its determination to let them pick up after the fall. Failure is how people and businesses learn. So how do you reinvent yourself when you are down? Dynamic and punchy, McArdle teaches us how to recognize mistakes early to channel setbacks into future success. The Up Side of Down marks the emergence of an author with her thumb on the pulse whose book just might change the way you lead your life"-- Provided by publisher.
"If you want to succeed in business and in life, Megan McArdle argues in this hugely thought-provoking book, you have to learn how to harness the power of failure. McArdle has been one of our most popular business bloggers for more than a decade, covering the rise and fall of some the world's top companies and challenging us to think differently about how we live, learn, and work. Drawing on cutting-edge research in science, psychology, economics, and business, and taking insights from turnaround experts, emergency room doctors, venture capitalists, child psychologists, bankruptcy judges, and mountaineers, McArdle argues that America is unique in its willingness to let people and companies fail, but also in its determination to let them pick up after the fall. Failure is how people and businesses learn. So how do you reinvent yourself when you are down? Dynamic and punchy, McArdle teaches us how to recognize mistakes early to channel setbacks into future success"-- Provided by publisher.
BIBLIOG. Includes bibliographical references (pages 273-290) and index.
Reviews


1 hold on first copy returned of 3 copies
1 copy being processed for Koelbel Non-Fiction.
1 copy being processed for Smoky Hill Non-Fiction.
1 copy being processed for Southglenn Business and Careers.

Copies

Location Call # Status
 Smoky Hill Non-Fiction  650.1 MCARDLE  ON SHELF
 Smoky Hill Non-Fiction  650.1 MCARDLE  DUE 11-10-14
 Southglenn Business and Careers  650.1 MCARDLE  ON SHELF
Publisher New York, New York : Viking, 2014.
Description xiv, 299 pages ; 24 cm
DESCRIPT text rdacontent
unmediated rdamedia
volume rdacarrier
Subject Success in business.
Success.
Failure (Psychology)
ISBN 9780670026142
067002614X
Other formats and editions

Similar books

Awards

Lexile

Tags